10 free self-care resources for stressed out moms

Here’s a predictable sequence of events: I get overwhelmed trying to meet my kids’ constant needs. I get grumpy/angry/resentful. In a bid to be supportive, my partner asks ‘what do you need right now?’.

What do I need? Right now? I have no fucking clue. I’m so tuned into everyone else’s needs that I literally don’t know what my own are, and if I did, I don’t have the bandwidth to figure out how to meet them (and don’t even get me started on the mom guilt when I try to put my own needs ahead of anyone else).

So here’s a handy little cheat sheet: ten common needs, with links to some resources that are free, quick and easy.

What do you need right now? 

(Psst. None of these links are sponsors, partners or affiliates. Just stuff that I like that I thought you might like too)

I need to laugh

Sometimes you just need to get some feel-good endorphins going with a good laugh. Let me  introduce you to one of my favourite sketches from the funniest people in the world, Baroness Von Sketch. Feels especially appropriate in the age of home-haircuts.

I need some fuel

The hanger is real. Why is feeding yourself so hard? I use a chart like this to make healthy snacking a no-brainer. 

I need to cry

You know that feeling when you just need to let it all out and have a full-on sob fest? Yeah, that’s good for you. But if you’re like me, sometimes it’s hard to actually let yourself cry. So, this is kind of weird, but it works: a wikihow on how to cry.

I need a pep talk

We’re not always great at saying nice things to ourselves. When you need to hear a friendly voice in your head, the #PowerMamaPost is here. Stick your monthly affirmation on your bathroom mirror and practice using it everyday until you start to sound like your own best friend. Sign up for the free digital subscription here.

I need to move

After my second baby was born I was really struggling to figure out how to fit a bit of exercise into my life. I needed something easy and flexible and made for where my body was at (a total wreck). I found MommaStrong (and again, this is a totally genuine, unsolicited plug!) and it was the perfect answer for me. Here’s a free one-minute workout for moms.

I need an escape

Yes, it’s ok to feel that way. And it sucks that right now, you’re stuck at home. But here’s a high-quality recording of a lovely beach with sun, shade, and waves. Go into your room, shut the door, and play this for a while. Let yourself be transported to this adults-only refuge (make-belief isn’t just for kids).

I need some calm

When your brain is buzzing, thoughts are racing, blood is boiling . . . maybe you just need a few moments of calm to recover from your day. The ultimate calm is obviously an uninterrupted nap, but short of that, try this ten minute guided meditation.

I need a smile

Just need a little pick-me-up? You’ve seen it before, but it never gets old: baby goats in pajamas. 

I need some inspiration

If you’re stuck in a rut and just need something – anything – to help you shift your focus to the big picture, a little bit of inspiration never hurts. I mentioned this one before, but it’s worth repeating: sign up for the free digital #PowerMamaPost, for a fresh dose of affirmation and inspiration each month.

I need a break

Just. Five. Minutes. Please.

You need a break. You deserve a break. Your kids won’t give you a break. I’ve been using online exercise videos for kids to occupy my four year old while my 8 month old is sleeping. And the best part is, because the kid is getting a bit of physical activity, I don’t have to deal with a post-screen-time-zombie afterward. This is one of our go-to channels (best for kids under 8 or so).

What do you need right now, mama? Here are 10 quick, free online resources to help busy mamas meet their own needs, from the #PowerMamaPost via @PostalistCards.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started